Best Albums of 2015 So Far (That I Missed)

I’m human. Believe it or not, the pinnacle of dickhead that is I am prone to fucking up. I can only pump out one horrible 500 word review every now and then, and as such, have missed out on some pretty incredible records. Other sites offer up the #content, sure, but I feel bad that I haven’t been able to personally deliver a small, spelling-error-stuffed, profanity-laden review of some amazing records that I think others should hear about. For some reason or other, I never posted about them at their time of release, and I’m genuinely bummed that I didn’t offer my two cents whilst the iron was hot, or whatever the phrase is. So, basically, here’s the good stuff that I missed that you shouldn’t:

1. The Living Eyes – Living Large

2. Screaming Females – Rose Mountain

3. Heart Beach – Heart Beach

4. Love of Diagrams – Blast

5. Panda Bear – Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper

6. METZ – II

7. Jess Locke – Words That Seem to Slip Away

8. Dollar Bar – Hot Ones

9. Twerps – Range Anxiety

10. Marlon Williams – Marlon Williams

11. Sharon Van Etten – I Don’t Want to Let You Down EP

12. Grenadiers – Summer

13. Clowns – Bad Blood

14. Blur – The Magic Whip

15. Joanna Gruesome – Peanut Butter

16. Thee Oh Sees – Mutilator Defeated At Last

17. Superstar – Table For Two

18. Sleater-Kinney – No Cities to Love

19. Kangaroo Skull – Palace of Nothing

20. Oh Mercy – When We Talk About Love


New: Butter the Children-True Crime EP

If you feel like the contingent of female fronted garage bands like locals Bloods and Screaming Females is lacking for you, then look no further than the amazing talent of Brooklyn’s Butter the Children. Unlike the cliche hipsterisms that call themselves bands that one would immediately associate with the neighbourhood of Brooklyn (cough, Grizzly Bear, cough), Butter the Children are only a slightly less rancid and despicably good band than their name inspires. The vocals of lead lady Inna Mkrtycheva are actually pretty stunning, rare for a garage band content to just casually kick out the jams. Combine this with the odd juxtaposition of washed out and bleached shoegaze guitar and simplistic snare, and you’ve got a sound that sounds unique and irresistable. Although this brand new 3 track EP won’t render you into an unconscious state of transcendental being, it’ll come damn close. Especially ‘Loose’. That track is deceivingly tight for a song with such a name. Damn you Butter the Children for bamboozling us all with your song titles!

You can stream/buy the schtunning EP here, and indulge in their previous self-titled right here. It’s worth it, like hanging out with Batman for an hour would be worth infinite amounts of cash and sexual favours.